Skip to Content

Liverpool Philharmonic, one of the UK’s most forward-looking music organisations.

Gary Carpenter: Die Flimmerkiste

Price £12
£2.50 P&P (per order)

Ein Musikalisches Snookerspiel for wind octet
Da Capo for six players
Distanza for 23 players
Van Assendelft’s Vermeer for clavichord
After Braque for 20 players
Die Flimmerkiste for 11 players

Clark Rundell conductor
Gary Carpenter
Pamela Nash
Ensemble 10/10

Gary Carpenter’s witty and dramatic writing style has featured in numerous films and TV programmes as well as in the opera house and concert hall.

An established teacher and animateur as well a composer, he studied under John Lambert at the Royal College of Music, and has lived and worked in Holland and Germany.

His works include four operas, five musicals and a radio music drama (The One Alone, with Dame Iris Murdoch) as well as animated and live action film scores, several ballets and concert pieces. He has also arranged/orchestrated many film scores including The Wicker Man and The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy.

The works on this portrait disc cover his period as composer in residence for the RLPO’s specialist new music group, Ensemble 10/10—described by The Times as ‘The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic’s avant-garde flying squad’— under renowned contemporary specialist Clark Rundell, a regular on NMC.

They include: After Braque, a sonic tour de force with a line up that includes two saxophones, mandolin and accordion; Die Flimmerkiste, a musical ‘diary of a riotous two years in Germany’s most uninteresting town’, in many movements and featuring a sonic firework display; Van Assendelft’s Vermeer, for clavichord; and the increasingly riotous Ein Musikalisches Snookerspiel for wind octet.

Gary Carpenter: Die Flimmerkiste Clark Rundell


Back to the top of the page